Catalin Parascan

Social entrepreneur. Engagement consultant.

Thoughts on Life and Getting Old

Maurice Sendak was an American author and artist best known for his classic children’s books, including Where the Wild Things Are (1963), In the Night Kitchen (1970), and The Nutshell Librarycollection (1976). His later works include We Are All in the Dumps with Jack and Guy (1993), Swine Lake (1999), and the operatic Brundibar (2003).



As the illustrator of over 60 books, Sendak collaborated on a wide range of projects. Among these were Else Holmelund Minarik’s original Little Bear books, which later spawned a popular children’s TV series. Recognition for Sendak’s work included the Hans Christian Andersen Award for children’s book illustration (1970); a National Medal of the Arts, awarded by President Clinton (1997); and the first Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award for Literature, awarded by the Swedish Government (2003). Toward the end of his life, Sendak harnessed his prodigious imagination in writing and designing for opera and ballet productions.



One comment on “Thoughts on Life and Getting Old

  1. Alice
    January 11, 2013

    This is very beautiful 🙂 thanks for sharing it xxx

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s


This entry was posted on January 11, 2013 by in Creativity.
%d bloggers like this: